"Let us not grow weary in doing what is right, for we will reap at harvest-time, if we will not give up." Galatians 6:9


The John W. Bailey Visiting Professor and Lecture Series was initiated in 1959 to honor the distinguished New Testament scholar who taught on the seminary faculty for 32 years. This endowed lectureship is used to bring to the ABSW campus visiting lecturers who enrich and broaden the vision of the students. Past lecturers include Dr. James Washington, professor of church history at Union Theological Seminary; Dr. Charles E. Booth, senior pastor of Mount Olivet Baptist Church in Columbus, Ohio; and Dr. Edwina Hunter, former professor of preaching at Union Theological Seminary.


The Frederic I Drexler Memorial Lectureship fund was established in 1970 from part of the estate of Dr. Frederic I. Drexler, founder of the California Baptist Theological Seminary. The lecture series features the centrality of biblical theology and evangelism in Christian ministry. Past lecturers include Dr. Daniel Weiss, former general secretary of American Baptist Churches USA; Dr. Allan Boesak, South African leader and ABSW visiting professor of theology, church and society; and Dr. Keith A. Russell, president of ABSW.


The Theodore A. Keaton Lectureship was established in 2001 to honor the contributions of President Emeritus Keaton. During his ten years as president, Dr. Keaton led the school to a solid financial basis, rebuilt enrollment, and launched the successful 21st Century Campaign that raised more than $3 million for the work of the school. This annual lecture focuses on the theme of encouraging and developing effective pastoral leadership. The inaugural lecture took place in the spring of 2002.